Connect with us

San Jose Sharks

Sharks, Coyotes React to Gabriel Ejection



Credit: NBCS Bay Area

Kurtis Gabriel was ejected from the San Jose Sharks’ 4-0 loss to the Coyotes for this hit on Johan Larsson.

The initial call on the ice was an interference major, which the officiating crew upheld after review.

Down 2-0 with 12:58 left, this Gabriel hit put a nail into the San Jose Sharks’ coffin. Larsson went into the locker room and didn’t return.

“Any time you have a heavy hit to your head, it’s dangerous,” Coyotes head coach Rick Tocchet said post-game. “[The trainer] went to talk to him. He wasn’t that bad, but you never know with these things. Any time you get hit in the head, things happen 24 hours later.”

Bob Boughner, however, saw things differently: “I saw what went down last night with a hit from behind by Schmaltz, a two-minute penalty, putting a guy head first into the boards. I saw this hit, it doesn’t look as near dangerous. I think because it’s Gabes, you didn’t get the benefit of the doubt. I was surprised by the five. It definitely was a penalty for interference, I would think at most.”

For what it’s worth, Boughner said this right after the game. At this time, he had only seen the hit live.

The San Jose Sharks bench boss was referring to this Nick Schmaltz hit on Radim Simek last night:

Game Preview/Lines #33: Hertl Standing Up for His Teammates

“I asked [the referee] what the difference was,” Boughner shared, “and he said it was interference and he said there’s a call in the book that you can call a major on an interference.”

“I was surprised when they reviewed that it was five,” Devan Dubnyk said.

Kurtis Gabriel did not speak post-game.

Welcome to your new home for San Jose Sharks breaking news, analysis and opinion. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and don't forget to subscribe to SJHN+ for all of our members-only content from Sheng Peng and the National Hockey Now network plus an ad-free browsing experience.
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

If Sharks/fans want to complain about relative calls (ie ‘this was worse than that’), they have plenty of legit complaints. That said, I had no issue with Gabriel getting a 5 min major and getting tossed. It was a dangerous play well outside the rules. Boughner missed on both goalie interference calls vs AZ, but both were the right coaching decisions. I’ll admit to be a bit miffed on the one last night. Though if you want to win a hickey game, scoring zero goals is not the way to do it. For all Kessel’s hat trick was a big… Read more »

[…] Boughner didn’t think Kurtis Gabriel deserved an ejection or a five-minute major after this hit on Johan Larsson on […]

[…] last appearance was on Mar. 27 against Arizona, when he was tossed from the game for a late hit on Johan Larsson. Since then, Gabriel has toiled either as a 23-man roster extra or […]

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info

SJHN on Facebook

All the San Jose Sharks news that's fit to print

Enter your email to get the best Sharks coverage delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.