Connect with us


My 2019-20 NHL Awards Ballot



Credit: NHL

This afternoon, the NHL announced the winners of the 2020 Calder Trophy, Hart Trophy, Norris Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award, and Vezina Trophy.

The league had previously announced the other NHL Awards winners.

Here is my trophy and All-Star and All-Rookie team vote.


1. Artemi Panarin, New York Rangers
2. Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets
3. Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers
4. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
5. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Winner: Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers

Final PHWA Vote


1. Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues
2. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
3. John Carlson, Washington Capitals
4. Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
5. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes

Winner: Roman Josi, Nashville Predators

Apparently, I was the only person to give Pietrangelo a first-place vote.

Final PHWA Vote


1. Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche
2. Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks
3. Mackenzie Blackwood, New Jersey Devils
4. Dominik Kubalik, Chicago Blackhawks
5. Adam Fox , New York Rangers

Winner: Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche

Final PHWA Vote


1. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
2. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues
3. Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
4. Zach Werenski, Columbus Blue Jackets
5. Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild

Winner: Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche

I made a mistake voting for Matthews, which I wrote about a month ago.


1. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues
2. Anthony Cirelli, Tampa Bay Lightning
3. Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
4. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
5. Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights

Winner: Sean Couturier


CENTER — Three selections.

Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers
Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

RIGHT WING — Three selections.

David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins
Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights

LEFT WING — Three selections.

Artemi Panarin , New York Rangers
Brad Marchand, Boston Bruins
Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets

DEFENSE — Six selections.

Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues
Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
John Carlson, Washington Capitals
Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
Zach Werenski, Columbus Blue Jackets

GOALTENDER — Three selections.

Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets
Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins

First All-Star Team: Draisaitl, Pastrnak, Panarin, Carlson, Josi, Hellebuyck

Second All-Star Team: MacKinnon, Kucherov, Marchand, Hedman, Pietrangelo, Rask

Final PHWA Vote


FORWARD — Three selections, regardless of position.

Dominik Kubalik, Chicago Blackhawks
Victor Olofsson, Buffalo Sabres
Nick Suzuki, Montreal Canadiens

DEFENSE — Two selections.

Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche
Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks

GOAL — One selection.

Mackenzie Blackwood, New Jersey Devils

All-Rookie Team: Kubalik, Olofsson, Suzuki, Makar, Hughes, Merzlikins

Final PHWA Vote


Here are NHL Awards winners that aren’t voted on by the PHWA.

Vezina Trophy: Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets

Final GM Vote

Pearson Award: Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers

Art Ross Trophy: Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Bobby Ryan, Ottawa Senators

Jack Adams Award: Bruce Cassidy, Boston Bruins

Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award: Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Matt Dumba, Minnesota Wild

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals, and David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins

William M. Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed): Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak, Boston Bruins

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Dampy Brar, Apna Hockey

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Hockey Shots

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info