Connect with us


My 2022-23 NHL Awards Ballot



NASHVILLE — How did I vote in the 2022-23 NHL Awards?

Here’s my official ballot, along with some of my reasoning.


Winner: Connor McDavid

My vote:

1. Connor McDavid
2. David Pastrnak
3. Ilya Sorokin
4. Nathan MacKinnon
5. Erik Karlsson

I believe the MVP award should be for all players, not just forwards, so I’ve selected a goalie, a defenseman, and three forwards. It might be funny to place Erik Karlsson, who, despite his individual brilliance, couldn’t raise the San Jose Sharks close to playoffs. But my question is, where would the Sharks be without Karlsson? I suspect a bit worse. There’s no doubt how valuable Karlsson was to San Jose: He had 34 points more than the Sharks runner-up in scoring, Logan Couture. And he had 77 points more — 77! — then runner-up San Jose Sharks defenseman Matt Benning.


Winner: Erik Karlsson

My vote:

1. Erik Karlsson
2. Adam Fox
3. Josh Morrissey
4. Hampus Lindholm
5. Miro Heiskanen


Winner: Matty Beniers

My vote:

1. Matty Beniers
2. Stuart Skinner
3. Jake Sanderson
4. Owen Power
5. Wyatt Johnston

I thought Sanderson played tougher minutes than Power. There were a lot of strong candidates to round out my top-five, I went with Johnston because of his 21 even strength goals. He and Beniers (20) were the only rookies with 20 or more ES goals.


Winner: Anze Kopitar

My vote:

1. Jaccob Slavin
2. Anze Kopitar
3. Nico Hischier
4. Aleksander Barkov
5. Esa Lindell

I look at penalty minutes, but also key is a player who plays tougher minutes, has to defend a lot. Brayden Point didn’t make the cut, despite only one minor penalty this year, because he got into a fight with teammate Mikey Eyssimont, then with the San Jose Sharks.


Winner: Patrice Bergeron

1. Patrice Bergeron
2. Nico Hischier
3. Anze Kopitar
4. Jordan Staal
5. Joel Eriksson Ek


My Vote:


1. Connor McDavid
2. Nathan MacKinnon
3. Leon Draisaitl

Right Wing

1. David Pastrnak
2. Mitch Marner
3. Nikita Kucherov

Left Wing

1. Jason Robertson
2. Artemi Panarin
3. Ryan Nugent-Hopkins


1. Erik Karlsson
2. Adam Fox
3. Josh Morrissey
4. Hampus Lindholm
5. Miro Heiskanen
6. Drew Doughty


1. Ilya Sorokin
2. Linus Ullmark
3. Connor Hellebuyck


My Vote:


1. Matty Beniers
2. Wyatt Johnston
3. Noah Cates


1. Jake Sanderson
2. Owen Power


1. Stuart Skinner

Welcome to your new home for San Jose Sharks breaking news, analysis and opinion. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and don't forget to subscribe to SJHN+ for all of our members-only content from Sheng Peng and the National Hockey Now network plus an ad-free browsing experience.

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Hockey Shots

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info

SJHN on Facebook