Connect with us

San Jose Sharks

CONFIRMED: Sharks’ Protected List



The NHL will make expansion draft protected lists public today.

San Jose Hockey Now can confirm the San Jose Sharks’ protected list early — and it’s just what we reported yesterday.

The San Jose Sharks will protect Logan Couture, Evander Kane, Tomas Hertl, Kevin Labanc, Timo Meier, Rudolfs Balcers, and Jonathan Dahlen up front.

On the back-end, they will protect Erik Karlsson, Brent Burns, and Marc-Edouard Vlasic. Newly-acquired Adin Hill will also be protected.

That means the Seattle Kraken can choose from forwards Dylan Gambrell, Matt Nieto, Jayden Halbgewachs, Ryan Donato, Alex True, Marcus Sorensen, Maxim Letunov, Patrick Marleau, or Kurtis Gabriel. They can also select defensemen Radim Simek, Christian Jaros, Jake Middleton, Nicholas Meloche, or Greg Pateryn, or goalie Martin Jones.

The San Jose Sharks will lose one of these players to the Kraken. Who will it be? We’ll find out at Wednesday’s expansion draft.

There will be plenty of intrigue then. While San Jose may not have exposed the most exciting of players, there should be no shortage of stars available to Seattle. Carey Price, Gabriel Landeskog, Vladimir Tarasenko, and Max Domi are among the marquee names that the Kraken may be able to choose from.

Welcome to your new home for San Jose Sharks breaking news, analysis and opinion. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and don't forget to subscribe to SJHN+ for all of our members-only content from Sheng Peng and the National Hockey Now network plus an ad-free browsing experience.
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I think they’ll take Meloche. Young defenseman with some promise would do them good.


Gambrell, Donato, Simek, Nieto, Meloche, Middleton is what i think Seattle order of preference is, guess we shall see on Wednesday


Looking like Gambrell. Seems like they probably dont want the term on Simek and Nieto is coming off injury.

James Gracey

Should have exposed Kane, Burns,Vlasic and Karlsson and maybe make a side deal to help eat some of Wilson’s garbage contracts.

david barnard

i just finished my expansion draft selections/team for SEA. whoa, they’re getting a good team! Forwards: Jakub Voracek (winger) Max Domi (center) Josh Bailey (winger) Joonas Donskoi (winger) Jared McCann (center/winger) Alexander Volkov (winger) Mason Appleton (center/winger) Carl Gundstrom (winger) Rem Pitlick (center) Dominik Kahun (center/winger) Nick Ritchie (winger) Vitaly Abramov (winger) Ryan Donato (center/winger) Adam Mascherin (center/winger) Kole Lind (winger) Nick Merkley (center/winger) Michael Bunting (winger) Defense: Anthony DeAngelo (right defense) Calvin De Haan (left/right defense) Marcus Petterson (left defense) Cale Fleury (right defense) Jake Bean (left defense) Dennis Cholowski (left defense) Cal Foote (right defense) Jake McCabe (left… Read more »

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info

SJHN on Facebook

All the San Jose Sharks news that's fit to print

Enter your email to get the best Sharks coverage delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.