Connect with us


BREAKING: Karlsson Is Norris Trophy Finalist



Credit: Hockey Shots/Dean Tait

The bigger question is who would get nominated with Erik Karlsson.

The NHL just announced Erik Karlsson, Adam Fox, and Cale Makar as finalists for the 2023 Norris Trophy for best defenseman in the league.

The San Jose Sharks star is the prohibitive favorite to take home his third Norris Trophy.

The 32-year-old paced all defensemen with 101 points, 25 more than second-place Josh Morrissey and Quinn Hughes. His 64 5-on-5 points was second in the NHL to center Nathan MacKinnon’s 65, and 22 more than second-place defenseman Vince Dunn.

He also became the first blueliner since Brian Leetch in 1991-92 to reach 100 points.

Leetch Welcomes Karlsson to 100-Point Club: ‘It’s an amazing accomplishment’

Karlsson, then of the Ottawa Senators, previously won the Norris Trophy in 2012 and 2015. He was runner-up in 2016 and 2017.

This is his first Norris nomination as a member of the San Jose Sharks, and his fifth time as a finalist. His previous best finish as a Shark was in 2019, when he placed 15th in his debut campaign in teal.

The Norris Trophy winner, along with the rest of the NHL Awards, will be announced on Jun. 26 in Nashville.

If Karlsson indeed wins the Norris, it would be a true crowning glory to cap off his up-and-down San Jose Sharks career. The All-Star defenseman, subject to intense trade rumors all season, is headed for the same uncertainty this summer.

Preview/Lines #74: Quinn Makes Case for Karlsson Norris

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Hockey Shots

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info