Connect with us


My 2021-22 NHL Awards Ballot



Credit: AP Photo/Jeff Chiu

The rest of the 2021-22 NHL Awards were announced this evening.

Here’s my official NHL Awards ballot, along with some of my reasoning.


Winner: Auston Matthews

My vote:

1. Igor Shesterkin
2. Connor McDavid
3. Cale Makar
4. Roman Josi
5. Auston Matthews

I believe the MVP award should be for all players, not just forwards, so I’ve selected a goalie, two defensemen, and two forwards. The “most valuable” to his team aspect of this award came into play when I decided on my final five. There’s a good argument for Josi being more valuable to his team than Makar, but Makar having a better season, so I still kept them in the same order as my Norris voting. But I do think Shesterkin, McDavid, Makar, and Josi were more valuable to their respective teams than Matthews, no slight on the Toronto center’s remarkable season.


Winner: Cale Makar

My vote:

1. Cale Makar
2. Roman Josi
3. Victor Hedman
4. Adam Fox
5. Charlie McAvoy

Actual defense is one of the reasons why I gave Makar, a brilliant offensive defenseman, a slight edge over Josi, a brilliant offensive defenseman. Makar was used more on the PK (1:25 Per Game), offering a slightly more well-rounded game, than Josi (00:43).


Winner: Moritz Seider

My vote:

1. Moritz Seider
2. Trevor Zegras
3. Lucas Raymond
4. Anton Lundell
5. Michael Bunting

Zegras and Raymond stepped into Anaheim and Detroit’s respective top-six seamlessly, but a defenseman like Seider who plays in all situations and munches big minutes is always going to be my vote. Seider is the only rookie blueliner to average more than 21 minutes a night, and he dropped 50 points on top of that.


Winner: Kyle Connor

My vote:

1. Jaccob Slavin
2. Kyle Connor
3. Ryan O’Reilly
4. Jared Spurgeon
5. Mika Zibanejad

Connor’s two minor penalties – coupled with 93 points in 79 games – is impressive, but maintaining a gentlemanly-but-still-effective-game as a shutdown center or forward like Slavin, Spurgeon, and O’Reilly always catches my eye.


Winner: Patrice Bergeron

My vote:

1. Ryan O’Reilly
2. Elias Lindholm
3. Patrice Bergeron
4. J.T. Miller
5. Aleksander Barkov

O’Reilly won it for me because of his combination of tough match-ups and zone starts and heavy PK usage. Bergeron is still a legitimate shutdown center, but the Boston Bruins have lightened up on his defensive zone starts for years. Based on feedback from Vancouver fans, Miller was a bit of a controversial choice, but I’ve liked him defensively when I’ve watched him, he had tough zone starts and match-ups, and they used him heavily on the PK.



My vote:

1. Connor McDavid
2. Auston Matthews
3. Leon Draisaitl

Right Wing

My vote:

1. Mitch Marner
2. Matthew Tkachuk
3. Mikko Rantanen

Left Wing

My vote:

1. Johnny Gaudreau
2. Jonathan Huberdeau
3. Kirill Kaprizov



My vote:

1. Cale Makar
2. Roman Josi
3. Victor Hedman
4. Adam Fox
5. Charlie McAvoy
6. Kris Letang


My vote:

1. Igor Shesterkin
2. Frederik Andersen
3. Juuse Saros



My vote:

1. Trevor Zegras
2. Lucas Raymond
3. Anton Lundell


My vote:

1. Moritz Seider
2. Jamie Drysdale


My Vote:

1. Alex Nedeljkovic


Winner: Carey Price

My vote:

1. Carey Price

2. Kevin Hayes

3. Zdeno Chara


Vezina Trophy (Igor Shesterkin), Ted Lindsay Award (Auston Matthews), Art Ross Trophy (Connor McDavid), Rocket Richard Trophy (Auston Matthews), Masterton Trophy (Carey Price), William M. Jennings Trophy (Frederik Andersen and Antti Raanta), King Clancy Memorial Trophy (P.K. Subban), Jack Adams Award (Darryl Sutter), Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award (Anze Kopitar), Willie O’Ree Community Award (Noel Acton from Baltimore)

Welcome to your new home for San Jose Sharks breaking news, analysis and opinion. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and don't forget to subscribe to SJHN+ for all of our members-only content from Sheng Peng and the National Hockey Now network plus an ad-free browsing experience.

Sheng’s Travel Fund

Help fund Sheng's travel! Every dollar goes to the cost of getting to and from Sharks road games.

Click here to contribute to Sheng's travel pool!

Get SJHN in your inbox!

Enter your email address to get all of our articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Hockey Shots

Extra Hour Hockey Training

Cathy’s Power Skating

Sharks Team & Cap Info

SJHN on Facebook

All the San Jose Sharks news that's fit to print

Enter your email to get the best Sharks coverage delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.